Follow Me….Now!

Peter & JohnWhen Jesus approached Peter and Andrew and said to them, “Follow me and I will make you fishers of men” (Matthew 4:19 KJV)  what did Peter and Andrew do?  “They straightway left their nets, and followed him.”  (Matthew 4:20 KJV)

Over the years I have taken this literally, metaphorically and symbolically.

Recently I have amused myself as I thought about the ramifications of what happened here.  So lets take it literally for now. Jesus approaches, decides he needs these two fisherman for his greater plan and tells them to follow. So Peter and John drop everything and wander off with this complete stranger.

I have wondered for some time, what in the world happened to Mrs Peter. On that particular day I am sure  she was waiting for him to come home like every other evening to put food on the table for his family, not to speak of picking up some milk and bread at the local shop on his way home.

So Peter doesn’t show up on time but not to worried is Mrs Peter because he could have had an exceptional fish haul or perhaps helping a fellow fisherman with their nets. As the evening rolls in and night falls, Mrs Peter is getting worried.

The next day she finds out from fellow fisherman and the neighbors that Peter and John wandered off with an itinerate stranger. Left their boat, nets and all and followed this man only God knows where.

In shock Mrs Peter probably called 911 or marched on down to the local police station to file a missing persons report only to be told they need to wait 24 hours before they will can do anything about it.

So what did happen, how did he eventually explain his going missing in action to his wife and family?  What did Mrs Peter and family do?

I am not sure we really know the answer to that and maybe its not all that important.  The point is and I must ask myself this question. Would I be willing to do the same, follow at any cost.

Would you?

I know what your thinking. “Of course I would, if I knew it was Jesus calling I would go, that is how much I love him”

I ask myself the same question, many many times.

Am I prepared to drop everything and follow without question if  He calls?

I would to think I am.

Would you?

Posted on April 1, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is a powerful blog post. I guess I had never really thought about the question, “Am I prepared to drop everything and follow without question if He calls?” I think the key word in this question is “everything”. I’ve been reading a book called “Not a Fan” by Kyle Idleman. There is one part in the book that catches my attention and I just continuing reading it over and over. It is talking about believing and following it says “the two are firmly connected. They are the heart and lungs of faith. One can’t live without the other.” That statement is powerful. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you for your comments and thoughts on the matter. I know our hearts always want to do the right thing and when the time comes for such a monumental decision I believe that He has probably already done his due diligence on us. Ha. He is always one step ahead.

Leave a Reply

