Once In Forever In

proud_to_be_peculiar_poster-rd1dfa12f951e4b8391e554c79e0e4829_wzk_400

When I first came to the Lord I was fortunate to find a community of Christians who saw themselves as soldiers for the Lord, lived like each day was their last and desired to win souls like their lives depended on it.

They saw themselves as strangers and pilgrims on the earth and knew that in the eyes of man they would be looked on as a ‘peculiar people’, unique and  different and they passed that on to me.

“..ye are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a peculiar people…”  (I Peter 2:9  KJV).

That is how I lived my young christian life and I loved it. I was already in that mode as I was young, free, full of life and willing to do anything for God. I was an adventurer and learned that this world was not ours, that we were just passing through this world for a better place.

So what happened?

Family, marriage, children, responsibility, mouths to feed. It starts to take  its toll. But most of all I look back and can clearly see that I stopped wanting to be a different and unique person. I wanted somehow to become more normal, like the majority of the population.

What I have learned over the years is this, you can’t be different  and  normal at the same time.   It’s either one or the other. Of course there are times when we have to appear to be normal for the sake of fitting in but that should be the exception rather than the rule for a christian.

I have lived a good exciting life but where in the rule book does it say that when a person gets older he should retire  from being different.  It doesn’t and we shouldn’t because our job is not done here until we move on from a world that is not ours to our eternal home where we truly belong.

Now I have to find my way back somehow to be that  peculiar and different person that I once was because when it comes to giving your life for the lord its once in forever in.

Peculiar or normal. What will it be?

Posted on April 3, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Blessed to be a little of both 🙂 depends on the change of seasons in my life 🙂 God bless

Leave a Reply

