One Foot In Front Of The Other

valley

The christian life is full of struggle, temptations, tests and trials. Its continual and constant and  our way of life. We’ve come to accept it, expect it and if we are strong enough relish these times knowing that the end result makes us better for the experiences.

We can even be grateful when the odd times we get chastened for our wayward actions. (Yeah right I can hear you mumble, ha)  It’s all part of the process that leads to His best place for us.

But walking through the valley of the shadow of death is another thing. ( ” ..though  I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil for thou art with me….” Psalm 23:4 KJV)

I am not sure if as a christian we are required to face this prospect at least once in a lifetime. I can’t speak for others on this one but I have been there.

When my son took his own life at 28 years of age almost 5 years ago I was unprepared for what was about to happen to me.

Dropped right into the centre of the valley I was about to begin a journey that many others  have traveled before  but because this place is so personal its very difficult to talk about or put into words.

I was in it and there was nothing I could do about it. There was no choice, I couldn’t turn back and I had to do my best to find my way out. There was no quick fix and no rescue was possible. I had to make my personal trek through the valley.

I was recently sent an email by a friend with a quote that provoked me in writing this post. It said, “if you find yourself in the valley of the shadow of death keep your feet moving”  It’s not the kind of place you want to stop and smell the roses, because there isn’t any or if there is its difficult to notice.

Well, I did make it through. Am I a better person because of the experience?  I don’t know, you would have to ask those who are close to me.

What did I take from my time in the valley?

Aside from  becoming more compassionate towards others,  I would say that no matter how bad my situation seemed, God somehow helped me through it.

So how did I cope?

One foot in front of the other.

Posted on April 4, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing your personal story. Life is difficult. Without Christ, our solid rock, the waves of trials would knock us down. As you walk through the valley, remember that Jesus never leaves or forsakes us. Keep praising Him!

  2. Thanks Chad for your encouragement and thoughts. What a great world wide family we have.

  3. Thank you for sharing this. As someone stuck in a valley, this has been encouraging.

Leave a Reply

