If Your Out On A Limb – Cut It Off

out-on-a-limbI put myself out on a limb not long ago so I decided to go all the way and cut it off and see where I would land. It’s not that I enjoy a good flogging, I don’t. Me and pain are not the  best of friends.

I have been known to wander and find my way up a big tree and before realizing what I had done found my way out on a very thin branch if I might add.

“What am I doing out here” acting surprised.

A better question: “What on Gods good earth am I doing up there in the first place.” Well it’s usually because of decisions I make. Some good some not so good. Either way I usually need to be rescued because I can’t get myself down without the fear of injury.

But every once in a while and this was one of those times for me that when I found myself out on a limb it was because I knew without doubt it was God speaking to me. It was one of those times I knew I was doing the right thing by climbing the tree in the first place.

I quit my job in the strangest of circumstances and it wasn’t a popular decision. I won’t go into the boring details but I knew I was doing the right thing. Now I don’t have to tell you that quitting your job in the best of times is not the wisest thing to do if you don’t have something to replace it with and I have always been a staunch believer of that principle.  Always.

This was different, I just knew and still do that  it was what God wanted me to do. I put myself out on a limb knowing that was exactly what I needed to do without the knowledge of what was to follow or what I was to pursue.

“Why would you do that” you ask? I’m glad you asked and all I can say is that I believe in order for God to lead me to my next mission in life I had to forsake something. And that something was my job. It was holding me back.

So back to my story.

“OK, God, here I am stuck up on this branch and the wind is starting to pick up and I am already afraid of heights and with all this  swaying I am  getting a little concerned that I might just fall.”

Well what does a man of faith do when God allows him to climb a tree and go out as far as he can on a limb and no other instructions are forthcoming? You got it. Cut the damn branch off and show God you mean business.

So I did, I cut the branch off knowing that I  would fall and not only am I high in the tree but the branch is hung out over open space. I learned quickly that when you cut the branch that is keeping you in relative safety and you start to fall its a scary experience.

“Lord I climbed out on the limb, I cut it off and now I am free-falling. Fast. So please do your part and get yourself down at the bottom of the ravine and catch me because there is nothing between me and you but the air that is messing up my formerly brushed hair.”

So? What happened.

I’m still falling but with renewed faith that God is exactly where I expect Him to be. At the bottom waiting to catch me. With his new plan for me.

I’ll let you know what happens.

Faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1 KJV)

Posted on April 7, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Brave, bold and courageous. Am sure that God will honour it. Can’t wait to hear how. Now that is going to be a testimony worthy of reading!
    God Bless

  2. I’ve also left a job and am waiting for God to open another door or doors. It’s frightening at first but also liberating. All the best

Leave a Reply

