A Poor Man’s Prayer

Proverbs 30This has been my go to prayer many times throughout my Christian life. Of course that is usually when I am on the poor side of the supply and financial ledger. I can’t say I have prayed this prayer when supply was more abundant although I can honestly say that the rich side of the ledger has alluded me.

I grew up in a working class Jewish family.  We were not poor and we were not rich. By American standards back in the 50’s and 60’s we could be classified as  lower middle class. From the  perspective of poor countries we would be considered rich.

My mother was a shoe sales person and my dad was a bartender and the kind that didn’t work in the high class clubs or hotels of today. No, sleazy all night drunks and fights type places.

But they provided for us and we never went with out.

I have always been a blue collar Christian, never really living the abundant life but never going without,  although on many occasions we were hand to mouth and touch and go but God always supplied.

I have learned to be grateful for his supply no matter how thin it may be at times. That’s just part our Christian mission statement, to be content in whatsoever state we are in.

So if you find yourself struggling financially and blessed with  being on the  poorer side of the ledger, then use this prayer, it works really well. I can attest to that.

If you are blessed and fortunate to be on the rich side of the ledger then try this prayer and let me know how it works for you.

Either way if we are feeling desperate and in need of a financial boost the one thing I know for sure is this; God never let’s us down and gives each one of us exactly what we need in our lives. If we feel poor and struggling, then know that God is using this particular time in our lives because it’s exactly what we need.

When I am in a position that I need to pray this prayer it always seems to open up a debate within. Would I really prayer this prayer if I considered myself rich? Would I have the humility to ask God to balance out my wealth supply because I truly believed it would be best for my walk with Him?

Or is this a place that we should seek before our time is up on this earth to have a good balance because we know that deep down, our lives would be blessed if we find ourselves somewhere in the middle?

I ask myself this question when faced with having to use this prayer when I am poor. Would I do the same if I was rich?

“Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me: lest I be full and deny thee,and say, Who is the Lord? or lest I be poor, and steal, and take the name of my God in vain.” Proverbs 30:8,9 KJV

I guess the Lord has tried to show me over the years that a good balance in our supply is what we should work toward.

But I wouldn’t knock back a taste of the abundant life either?

I would be interested to get your thoughts on this also?

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

