Now What Did I Do With My Calling

misty tree 250My calling has not changed since Jesus came into my life some 40 odd years ago sitting under an oak tree somewhere in Canada. When Jesus came into my life at that specific time he also showed me His calling for my life although I probably didn’t realize it at the time as I had no idea how to  process the experience I was going through.

Going from a young Jewish man of 23 to a believer in Jesus in an instant, actually over night as I camped out alone under this tree. Waking in the morning with a new life that later I found out was being born again.

Leaving the oak tree behind I walked down that path with not only a new outlook on life but Jesus’ love burning in my heart. All I wanted to do was tell others about him. I did just that  for some time, at least the little I knew or understood. The fire burning in my heart was nothing less than being filled with the holy spirit.

Not long after I met my church of Christians who were able to spoon feed me the daily food I needed to grow inside spiritually and get to know intimately this new friend  that transplanted my heart in an instant.

My calling was clear. To share God’s love with others through Jesus. The means and gifts and talents and missions that God gave me varied over the years but my calling remained the same.

‘The gifts and calling of God are without repentance’ (Romans 11:28 KJV)  and if I may add to that, I can remember someone once telling me that it also means that God doesn’t change his mind when he passes out the talents and he knows who to give them to.

Each one of us was called the day we made the decision to live for Jesus. I believe that calling does not change, it remains the same. The difficulty was,  as time wore on and I became encumbered with the cares of this world, relationships, family, children, friends, habits,  work, supply, health and the myriad of problems that are associated with each, I lost sight of the most important job God gave me to do, and that is my calling.

It’s no wonder that for so  many years I felt God was purposely keeping that elusive calling from me when all the time it already had been given to me in the beginning. The calling never changed. I did.

Let me put it this way. He wouldn’t save us without a calling. It’s there, it always has been. Just go back to the beginning and get it off the shelf.

I did.

Posted on April 14, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Love this. I realised my calling early in my faith too. From a little girl my mum would sing with us, teaching us rhythms and harmonies. Today I play flute, guitar, bass guitar and learn harmonies before I know the tune for a new song. I remember the first time I played in Church after I was saved and realising that the reason I had learnt to play those instruments would be the gift I would be giving back for the rest of my life. To this day my Mum has no idea of her part in the gifting. She doesn’t even really know I lead worship in church regularly. I’m so happy you have rediscovered your calling. It’s a very important one!
    God Bless and Best Wishes

  2. inspireddaybyday

    Your posts are amazing! Loving them all!
    Kimmy

  3. Carol Foo 珍

    Thanks for sharing, Sammy.
    It took me two decades before I started walking in my calling but God is faithful even when we forget or are careless. He will redeem our “lost” time, make all things work out for good, and restore the years that the locusts have eaten. 🙂 Showers of blessings!

  4. You know, I’m still what in the world my calling is. I always feel distant when I read the verses on spiritual gifts cuz I have any of the ones listed. So I’m still challenged with that. But your post is really a wonderful story! Woooo, what a cool and interesting scene of God’s calling to a Jew under a tree in Canada. Thanks for sharing your story.

  5. Thanks for visiting sf. I’m glad you liked my story. I have felt for many years the same. What is my calling, what are my gifts, what happened God did you forget about me? And you know what? At 65 years old I am still not completely sure what my calling is,what my mission is and what gifts God gave me. But I know this for sure that He loves me and if I know he loves me then as His child He will take care of me regardless of my calling or gifts. God bless you sf

  6. Thanks for showing up on my blog from time to time. You’re happy face led me here.

    The posts I’ve read this evening are so in line with what God is speaking to me right now. Like The Thinking of Thoughts who commented earlier, my calling is worship. It’s also writing and teaching. I haven’t figured out how all that fits together just yet, but I know that I am supposed to do all three. Maybe something like “Lyrical Science” that takes science information and puts it to music so the kids can learn it easier – and retain what they’ve learned?? I dunno! 😉

    Anyway, thanks for your encouraging words. They are desperately needed and helping me sort things out right now.

    Love in Christ,
    Tami
    \o/
    Praising Jesus whose gifts and calling are without repentance!

    • Thanks Tami, God bless you. I’m happy you happened by and you like my face. I try and use the smallest photo possible.:) God bless you.

      • Yours is a happy face!

        I try to mostly show off my guitar – Grace. If you don’t know the story, you should read it. You can find it on the header of my blog. God is gracious indeed! 🙂

        \o/

  1. Pingback: Better Late Than Never | Insight-Seeing From Within

Leave a Reply

