Better Late Than Never

One of my favorite go to verses when I get stuck in a situation that needs a do over  is Romans 8:28  “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” ( KJV)

The Word usually gives me  instant relief even if only for a split second. It’s God telling me; “hey, I got your back, everything is going to be alright, this situation is under control and it will work out just fine, trust me.”

That should be all I need to hear, the end of the matter, give it to God, He’s in control, off to the next solution.

But by the time I get to the back-end of that verse “…to them who are the called according to his purpose” , my faith takes a dive faster than a stealth bomber.

Over the years I doubted my calling, I wondered where it went, why God didn’t pick me when he handed them out or I left it behind somewhere and couldn’t find it or I hadn’t proved my self by my own works to even be worthy of a calling  and the worse case scenario, God just took it from me because I stopped using it.

Oh my, what a meal I made of it.

“Duh, Sammy, that is why He died on the cross so you can have a purpose. The whole point of being born again, is to give you a new purpose in life, that’s your calling, everyone is called for a purpose who comes to Jesus.”  Of course I was called according to His purpose.

Oh the simple truths. So what if it took me until almost retirement age to see that little tidbit of truth. At least now I can glue the second half of that verse back into my bible and to  know without a shadow of a doubt that I am called according to his purpose therefore all things will work out for good because I not only love him but I am called with a purpose.

Well, with that little gem tucked away and my faith restored I can go back  to sleep knowing that God is working behind the scenes tirelessly (and relentlessly I should add)  making sure everything is oiled in my life and running the way it should.

Better late than never takes on a whole new meaning for me.

Posted on April 16, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

