Make It Personal Part 1

imagesI am enjoying reading the blog posts under the Faith section of  WordPress Reader. Thousands of my brothers and sisters around the world are making noise professing Jesus and pouring out their hearts making themselves heard.

Topics such as obedience, salvation, disciples, christian, faith, belief, hope, missions, missionaries, trusting God, bible, gospel, courage, angels, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, bible stories, God,trust,  love, encouragement, Satan  religion, prayer, spirit etc.

There must be thousands of posts daily just on WordPress alone,  Christians professing their love for God, preaching the gospel, sharing their stories of faith, opening their hearts as many are clinging to His Word one day at a time.

Neither time or stamina allows me to read them all but those I have read there is no doubt in my mind that Jesus has a special hold on those who know him personally and so it should be.

In saying that there is one topic that I find almost non-existent. Outreach and witnessing.

Outreach for the most part is witnessing. Sharing the Lord’s love and mercy in all ways possible and from what I can see from where I stand most churches and religious groups and christian organizations do a pretty good job on this one.

What I would like to talk about is something I fear may be a lost art.

Personal witnessing.

I am not sure if it’s a term used any more as I myself am not a church goer.  Maybe it has a new name that I am not aware of. I also am not talking about the organized going out two by two door knocking or standing on the street corner handing out gospel tracts.

What I am talking about is going about our business during the course of the day and looking for opportunity to talk to people about our faith. I bring this up because although I am sure someone must have had some stories to tell along this line, I haven’t seen them.

Personal witnessing or one on one, face to face with another person usually a stranger have been some of the most  exhilarating and rewarding experiences that I have had over the years during my time in the Lord’s service.

It is not only a powerful way to reach those who are searching and looking for Jesus but it is nothing less than supernatural to see someone transform right in front of your eyes. Walking away from someone who was uplifted by not just your words of love but your whole demeanor because all of us as Christians should be God’s representatives in shoe leather.

Personal witnessing is not ripping the pages out of your bible and stuffing them down the throat of  the person God put in your path neither is it being smacked over the head with the bible that is weighing down your handbag.

It is being in the right place at the right time always on the ready to share God’s love with someone one on a personal level.

So if you need a pick me up make it a habit or part of your daily routine like having that cup of coffee or walking the dog etc by praying that God will bring someone your way during the course of your daily activities so you can share the love of God face to face.

When personally witnessing to someone I think I Corinthians 3:6-8 (KJV) sums it up beautifully. “I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase. So then neither is he that planteth anything, neither he that watereth; but God that giveth the increase. Now he that planteth and he that watereth are one; and every man shall receive his own reward according to his own labor.”

So it doesn’t matter if we are the planter of the seed, or we water the seed its God that does the increasing or growing but each one of us receives a reward and to me that is always seeing someone touched by the love of God.

Stay tuned for Part II of Make It Personal

In the meantime if you have personal witnessing stories, please share as I would love to hear them.

Posted on April 20, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Just want you to know that in the short time I have read your blog, I glean so much from it. All your posts are thought-provoking… Thank you for sharing, as I find it refreshing~

  2. One way I have found to witness is to privately and, in a friendly manner, tell friends or acquaintances that I feel offended when I hear them using the Lord’s name in vain, that I feel this cheapens their speaking and their writing. I ask them, in honour of our friendship to refrain from using profanities,at least in my presence. At least in one instance, it has lead to my friend talking to me about my faith, asking questions and eventually letting God make changes in her life. Gayle Moore-Morrans

Leave a Reply

