I Heard You The First Time

images

There was a woman, a devout christian  who lived in a small town. Her only son, from the time he was a teenager caused her nothing but grief and heartache.

He was constantly in trouble with the law, drinking, fighting and generally a public nuisance.

Every one in the town knew him and his name was synonymous with trouble.

This dear woman became desperate and prayed for him every day. She used every opportunity to get others to pray for him. Day after day, week after week, month after month. This went on for years.

One day before her weekly worship service started the pastor was waiting for her at the entrance of the church.

“I have some news about your son” the pastor told her.

“What did he do this time”  the woman said preparing herself for yet another let down.

“Nothing like that” the pastor assured her;  “last night your son came to the church. We were  having a bible study with some of the members and he came in asking if he could speak to someone about God. Long story short, he fell to his knees asked God to forgive him for his wayward life and received Jesus as his Lord and Savior.”

“What” the woman shrieked. “You must be mistaken. It couldn’t my son. He is forever on the wrong side of the law, God and everything good.”

“No, its your son” smiled the pastor. “I know its hard to believe but yes, its your son”

“I think you must be mistaken pastor it couldn’t be my son.”

“Come with me” said the pastor as he led the woman into the church.

“See there he is sitting and waiting for the service to begin in the front row.”

The woman broke down and cried as she confessed that after all these years of praying for her son, she was certain God was not listening.

This is one of my favorite stories. I have found myself in this same situation on more than one occasion. Praying so hard and so long and becoming so repetitive like God was deaf or something all because I thought he wasn’t answering my prayers and thinking surely I have to keep bugging God until I see results.

I believe that there are times that we can pray ourselves out of faith like this dear woman. When God answered her prayer she couldn’t believe it.

Why do we think that God will somehow forget or dismiss our request unless we keep at him like a broken record that gets stuck on “God please answer my prayers, please,please, please.”

It has taken me years to learn this lesson but I am convinced that when we sincerely pray with all our heart for something or someone or a situation, then we must believe that God not only hears us but he starts working behind the scenes to make it happen.

Now He may not answer in the way we expected and we may be shocked when we see the results of our prayers but that is the way God likes to operate.

He wants us to believe and have faith that when we pray He will answer albeit in His own way, in His own time and on His terms. Because he has a handle on the overall situation and knows what is best for all concerned.

Try to remember, He heard you the first time.

Faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1 KJV)

  

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Awesome story!!!!! I don’t think there is a person that cannot find themselves in this story!! God Bless you!

  2. Thank you Sammy. I needed to read this today.

  3. I needed to write this today. Amazing how God works. I’m lovin’ your blog too.

  4. So glad you posted this today!

  5. Great blog. Simple, but powerful.

    • Thank you Cynt, I appreciate you visiting. I had a quick peek at yours also and you have such a beautiful family. God bless you and yours…

  6. Thank you Cynt, I appreciate you visiting. I had a quick peek at yours also and you have such a beautiful family. God bless you and yours…

  7. Just want to share Sammy, that I liked this so much, I posted it to my facebook page which is in essence a ministry. Many people responded to it and were blessed by it. But greater yet, in my gift shop I got to talking with a couple who disclosed to me they have been praying for their son who went from a good boy to a drug addicted man. They said we have been praying for years and now we haven’t seen him in a year he left his family as well. I pulled up this story on my computer and read it to them. They were both crying and felt God had led them here today as they live 30 minutes away. We have ONE AMAZING GOD!

    • God is so amazing. Thanks for sharing this and God bless you for passing these stories on. They are meant to be a blessing to others and I am so happy they have been. This dear couple you talk about, God must have really wanted to encourage them. There son is going to be ok. Once again, God bless you

  8. Your blog is such an inspiration and a help to me. I wanted to show you my appreciation by giving you the Beautiful Blogger Award. I posted about it here. http://thethinkingofthoughtsblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/a-beautiful-honour/

  9. Thank you. And thank you for the award. I don’t know what to say. Its humbling. God bless….

  10. Even the 1st century Christians did this. They prayed up a storm for Peter’s release from jail…and the girl who came to the door wouldn’t open it, disbelieving it could be he.

  1. Pingback: All Of Heaven Is Rejoicing Right Now | Insight-Seeing From Within

Leave a Reply

