Make It Personal Part 5

BE A GOOD LISTENER

iStock_000004060935XSmall[1](2)When I first started witnessing on the streets of Vancouver, armed with only a bible in my first months as a Christian, I came out guns blazing and I didn’t stop until I was the last man standing. I left it for the more mature sensible elders to pick up the pieces.

I didn’t know any better and of course experience and time are the best teachers. With thousands of hours clocked up on the front lines ( streets, Universities, Colleges and where ever there was a heart beat) I learned  that one of the greatest tools we have as a believer is a listening ear.

When I go to the doctor, the first thing he will ask me is “what’s wrong, what’s the problem, what’s bothering you.” The doctor needs to hear it from me to explain to him what symptoms I have. From there he will invariably poke and prod and ask more questions. If the problem is not visible on the body. If its internal he needs to gather the most information he can from me the patient.

In other words he has to listen to what I am saying about myself by asking leading questions.

Personal one on one witnessing, for success is not much different. It’s not always easy as I  experienced, especially in my early years that my guns were loaded, the safety off and my finger on the trigger ready to fire.

In my overly zealous enthusiasm I thought I already had the answer and was just waiting for the right time to fire away not really understanding what a person needed in his or her life at the time.

It took me a long time, many, many years in fact, before I learned to listen by asking the right questions. Questions that would put me in a position to have to really listen to what a person is trying to convey.

By asking the right questions I became a good listener because I was hearing what I needed to hear about a person that would help me to know how give them Jesus in a way that would be easily understood by them. Given a chance people love to talk about themselves and will open up if they know they can trust you with their heart.

It’s our job as God’s Ambassadors  to lead them to Jesus, show them the way. If they are ready to pray there on the spot fine but sometimes they just need directions and sometimes all they need is a listening ear.  If we have asked the right questions,  listened well, and pointed them in the right direction we have done our job. All the rest is icing on the cake.

“…let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak.. James 1:19 (KJV) Now this may have been taken out of context and James may have meant it for something other than personal witnessing, but that is what is so great about God, He can apply HIS word any way he wants.

So if we want to be better witnesses let us use both our ears, first and then be very slow to speak. I

We may not know until we get to heaven to see all the souls that we influenced along the way. How great it will be when Jesus greets us with a “well done thou good and faithful servant, enter into the joy of the Lord”

Posted on May 13, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. thethinkingofthoughts2013

    wise as ever Sammy

Leave a Reply

