Are You Still Waiting On God

Through out my christian life I have heard and often adhered to the proverbial motto of God speaks in three ways, yes, no, wait. So when praying for some direction, leading or intervention in my life and praying for God to give me an answer to what was on my mind I would obediently wait for yes, no or wait.

Since my direct link with God was somewhat dubious and the line was not always a clear one, I reverted to hearing through the Word.

Since I didn’t know any scriptures on God saying “yes son, this is what I want you to do or no son, this is not what I want you to do I waited a lot because nine times out of ten the scripture “wait on the Lord: be of good courage and He shall strengthen thine heart: wait I say on the Lord”  Psalm 27:14 (KJV)  would pop into my mind.

So a good portion of my life was waiting on the Lord for one thing or another.  Most of the time I waited myself out of faith, forgot about what I was waiting for or something more interesting came along that I could wait on.

So let me throw a spanner in the works for  those  of us who have used this method of hearing from God for his leading our lives.

In Matthew 9:27-30 as the story goes; two blind men followed Jesus knowing that he was doing all these miracles. They called out, Hey Jesus how about us, can you heal us?  To my knowledge Jesus didn’t say yes, he didn’t say no and he didn’t say wait. His answer was with a question. Do you believe I can I can do it?

They said yes. It says that Jesus touched their eyes and said “According to your faith be it unto you.” (Matthew 9:28)  Their eyes were opened they were healed, they could see.

The point I wanted to make is this. We as Christians are content to wait on the Lord, wait on His perfect timing, wait for the Lord to make it so obvious for what we are praying about that many times we wind up waiting ourselves out of faith.

It’s not always about what God wants us to do. Many times it’s about what we know we should do, because God has already shown us and we are looking for validation. Just say yes to Jesus when he asks “do you believe I can?”

So when asking God for an answer lets trust Him that his answer be with a  yes, no, wait or do you believe I can.

My money is on Matthew 9:28 According to your faith be it unto you.

Posted on May 18, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Elisabeth Elliot said God’s NO is His mercy. My life has proved this.

Leave a Reply

