Voice Recognition

How do we really know when it is God speaking to us. So how do I really know its God? I wonder what God thinks when we continue to question, “is that really you God?” when He speaks to us.

The thing that came to mind this morning was how I recognize someones voice on the phone. Of course in this day and age all we need to do is look at the caller ID on our mobile phones and see who it is.

Unfortunately God very seldom uses a direct phone line when He speaks to me so I really don’t have his caller ID, but that would be way cool if He did.

Getting back to voice recognition, take away caller ID or those of us who can remember when we used the wall phone, it rings we pick it up, say hello and wait for the person on the other end to speak. We usually can recognize the caller’s voice if it is someone who calls regularly and we speak to them often.

They need to speak but a few words and we immediately know who it is. That  is because we are in regular communication with them. We know without a doubt who is speaking, we are familiar with their voice and they need no introduction.

I wonder how God feels every time he calls us to speak to us when we continually ask who is this? “Is that you God?  If that is you could you please confirm some personal details.”

So we can recognize our friends voices over the phone, we recognize our children and immediate family, we recognize our work place boss and colleagues etc those who we communicate on a regular basis.

The problem with is that God’s voice sounds so similar to my own. I hear myself saying. Is that you God or am I talking to myself?

My two eldest  daughters sound exactly alike on the phone. When I answer and they reply with Hi Dad, it usually not enough for my inner voice recognition software to kick in. I need more so I will say something without committing my self to a mistake.

I know it’s a fifty-fifty proposition but family can be quite jealous and possessive about their identity and place in the pecking order.

So if I say too soon, “Hi Heidi how are you” and get back a “it’s Lisa Dad, don’t you know my voice by now?” I cringe and rebuff myself silently and cheerfully explain (for the umpteenth time), “you girls sound too much alike.”

God, I am sure, works hard to help us recognize his voice and I can’t sit here and tell anyone else how to do it. I have hard enough time trying to recognize His voice myself. What I shouldn’t need to do is ask God for His personal details when he speaks to me to confirm whether it is Him or not.

Learning to recognize God’s voice is essential if we are to believe that what we are hearing is from Him, then giving us the faith to know its God who is  giving us the instruction or direction specifically for us.

Jesus said  four times in the Gospels “he that ears to hear, let him hear” (Mat 11:15, Mark 4:9, Luke 8:8 and Luke 14:35)  and if we know that it Him speaking then we will have the faith to believe and act on what He is telling us.

Happy listening.

Posted on May 20, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I like the verses here:

    John 10:3
    To him the doorkeeper opens, and the sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.

    John 10:4
    When he puts forth all his own, he goes ahead of them, and the sheep follow him because they know his voice.

    John 10:16
    I have other sheep, which are not of this fold; I must bring them also, and they will hear My voice; and they will become one flock with one shepherd.

    John 10:27
    My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me;

    I also believe that I can recognize the tone and timber of the Master’s voice. I can also recognize the voice of a demon. It’s wonderful to be guided in this fashion.

    robin

  2. optimisticgladness

    Beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

