Yesterdays Faith Is No Good For Today

A few weeks back I had one of those days that was out of character for me. Since God has been in a rebuilding stage with me, demolishing everything but the foundation, my life has been disruptive to say the least.

If you have ever had your rooms re-carpeted or re-tiled, a new porch or room added to your home or your kitchen remodeled you understand how it can be an invasion of our privacy and at the least an inconvenience. That is what my life has been like the past year except God has been rebuilding from the bottom up while I still have to live in my body.

So when I say that I had one of those days, I mean it was one where everything went better than good. Everything I touched that day turned to gold and I was rewarded with some unexpected blessings.

For me these kind of days have been few and far between but I did have one and it was a fantastic one  from morning till night.  At the end of the day I reflected on the perfect day  and milked it for all it was worth. I tried hard to remember what I did right so I could replicate it the next day.

Uh, no, it doesn’t work that way. The builders (God and his helpers)  were back buzzing everywhere continuing to rebuild and renovate and life was back to normal and generally disruptive.

Yesterday is the past. Good or bad, perfect or imperfect it was yesterday. Our faith for yesterday is used up and no good for today. A new day needs new faith.

For those like myself who are coffee lovers and like to brew it to our liking, we wouldn’t  even consider using  yesterdays left over coffee. It just doesn’t work.

Faith is not much different. Every morning we have to start all over.

That  is also why we tend to worry about tomorrow and all the things that are going to be coming up in the future. We  somehow think we need to put  some faith aside from today’s intake in case we don’t have enough for tomorrow.  Nope, sorry it doesn’t work like that.

We will never ever have faith for tomorrow or the day after or any where in the future.

We can’t use yesterdays faith for today and our faith for today is no good for tomorrow.

“though our outward man perish, yet our inward man (our faith) is renewed day by day.” 2 Corinthians 4:16 (KJV)

Posted on May 28, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Excellent!

    We need to constantly hear the promises to be nourished and refreshed.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

