What If…..

About a year ago Rhonda noticed a raised dark looking mole just sitting on my collarbone. As Melanoma is rife in this country she admonished me to go to the clinic and get it checked out. She showed me the scars of her surgically removed melanoma to drive home the point.

I stared at my feet hoping if I didn’t move she would go away. She didn’t and either I had to succumb to her demand or miss out on my sports program. It was a no brainer.

“Sure I’ll go see the doctor.” (Now go away)

“I’ll make the appointment tomorrow” she said.

She knew me well enough that unless she made the appointment, put me in the car, tied me to the seat, drove me to the clinic, walked me inside, talked to the receptionist, waited with me so I wouldn’t escape, go into the doctor’s office with me,  show the doctor my collarbone with the mole in question, talk to the doctor about how I should go for checkup more often because I am getting older……..

“OK, absolutely honey, you make the appointed and I am there. I promise”

She did and I went.

Sitting in the waiting room, I was thinking about a book I had just finished reading. It was a fictional story of a man who was diagnosed with cancer.  After all the tests his doctor told him the bad news that he had a cancer that was incurable. Best case scenario he asked.

She said one year. Go home and put your house in order and if there are things you want to do, I suggest you waste no time.

Of course the first thing he does after telling his wife was quit his job. The rest of the book was based on him making a to do list and checking them off as he went.

I started thinking….

“sir, you can go in and see the doctor now”, I’ll finish that thought later as I slowly walked into the doctor’s office.

No more than sixty seconds it took for my medical staff to pronounce me fit and healthy.

“Nothing to worry about but keep an eye on the little bugger just as a precaution” was his last piece of advice to me.

Walking outside  into the sunshine I felt like I was given a second chance in life. What would I do with it I thought. Why would I have to wait till I was told I was going to die to get out there and live my dreams.

“I should do just that”, I said aloud  as my steps quickened. “The first thing I should do is quit my job.”

Looking at my watch I started to run, I didn’t want to be late for work.

But the seed was sown.

Posted on June 21, 2013, in Faith. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. inspireddaybyday

    That was really great Sammy 🙂

  2. Years ago, when I was still living on 12 acres ( next to the sugarcane field) there was not much need for clothing.( at home) I was in the recliner, watching TV, stretched ( arms up ) and in that instant, got bit my an insect. It did not sting, like a bee sting but more like like a twinge of something going on from inside. Then I noticed the lump. And it scared me half to death. Ithought I had breast cancer. It took me 3 weeks to get to a dr or assured me, that what I saw was the welt from an insect bite. And that I was fine. BUT Oh my gosh, it was scary. Also I have a dear friend who is a breast cancer survivor. She also suffers from lyme desease and recieving disabillity for that. She is from Ill. She and her husband wanted to live in Florida so they took a job in property management to make it happen. She is the manager I replaced in my last position . She actually recommended me for the job. She resigned after her last bout, knowing she got lucky again and wanted to spend more time with her family. Grandkids, especially. ! Now they have down sized, live in a small mobile about 50 miles from here and she spends more time in Ill then she does here. WHEN you have a heath scare and REPRIEVE from the grim reaper. You figure things out really fast! Smiles. GREAT story Sammy! HUGS!

Leave a Reply

