It’s Never Too Late To Say Yes To God

A few years ago my wife got the call that her mother was in the hospital and close to death. Her health at deteriorated to the point the doctors didn’t think she had very long to live and a call went out to all her children. Rhonda hopped on the next available flight and went to see her.

This is the account of her visit:

“The hospital room had a heavy feeling in it. Like death was lingering waiting for the right time to take my mum away. My sisters and brothers were none the better. My mum came in and out of consciousness during the course of my stay. I couldn’t help but see her internal struggle. When awake she was in such a negative state of mind, so unlike the woman I was accustomed to, that had such a positive outlook on life in spite of the hardships that surrounded her on a daily basis.A woman who raised 7 children, one handicapped from birth and performed her duties as a mother with grace and humility. She was a woman of God with out the religion or beliefs. She lived her life as God intended.

Now I had to watch her struggle in spirit as she was trying to make the transition from this life to the next. We could see that it was only a matter of time, my siblings seeing only the outward pain of a woman who internal organs were shutting down while I saw an inner struggle of a woman holding on to life either because she didn’t want to leave or was unsure of what lies ahead. Only God knows what goes on in these times. My impression was that she was struggling with her place in eternity.

Some stayed through the night some of us went home to get some sleep.

Arriving the next day my mother was sound asleep but this time there was no indication of struggle or pain. She was peaceful for the first time since I came to visit. As all her children gathered perhaps for the last time and we were preparing ourselves for the inevitable she awoke. She was different, she was lucid and at peace. She was her old self. One of my sisters decided to wear all black that day. My mother took one look at her and with a wry smile said, “hey, whats with the black, I’m not dead yet.” She was indeed alive and at peace with herself and perhaps with God too. No doubt in my mind. It was good to see her in such good spirits.

I left that evening as I had to get back to my work and family. I returned home knowing that this would be the ย last time I saw my mother and I am thankful that she was in such a good state of mind.

Some time ย later I got the call that she had indeed passed away. In her sleep.

Although the loss was not sudden or unexpected, I knew that my mother had lived an exceptional life. Loved by everyone that crossed her path. I miss her immensely but knowing that her struggle ended before she died and that what ever happened to her on her death bed brought her peace. I know my mother is now in the presence of dear Lord and Savior.”

It is never too late to say yes to God.

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Beautiful! ๐Ÿ™‚ No, never too late! Having seen these end fo life experiences, I have no doubt! As you already know. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. optimisticgladness

    This post tugs at my heart. I look forward to meeting your mum one day….you’ll have to introduce me to her. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Beautiful, I am happy she was at peace and is now home!

Leave a comment