Handicapped?

When we come to the Lord we are bought with a price.  Jesus paid the ultimate price for us. He owns us and we don’t mind. Right? Good, we are on the same page so far.

And he bought us ‘as is’, just the way we were, warts and all. We are washed, cleansed,  remade, renewed and rewired but still not perfect.

Now why is that? Some of us come with handicaps. Handicaps God could heal us of if he wanted to but decided not to and I am not talking about the obvious physical handicaps either.

No the ones I talk about are those that are embedded in our natural human side of things, our mind, our emotions our physical attributes and idiosyncrasies.

I have been trying to overcome some of my own handicaps for years and have never been able to master the ‘how to’ on this. Day after day, year after year I wind up with the weaknesses, personality and character flaws I just can’t seem to master no matter how hard I try.

In retrospect these handicaps have held me back from being the man God wanted me to be. Or so I thought. That I realized is a whole lot of crap.

My sister-in-law, Lynn, my wife’s sister who is just a year or two older than her, has been handicapped since birth. Born without feet and without the use of her legs, this woman now in her late fifties puts me to shame.

For one she doesn’t look at her self as being handicapped.  The stories she tells of her exploits since the time  she could use crutches to get her around never ceases to amaze me. I am humbled when I am around her. She is always cheerful, fun, down to earth and has a great sense of humor. She even had a child and raised him on her own.

She is an advocate in her local community and now nation wide helping to better community facilities and programs for the handicapped. In a word, she puts me to shame when I think about all the internal handicaps I have that hold me back even from the simplest tasks.

Lynn, knows that she will never be healed while on this earth. She will never have feet, she will never have the use of her legs. She doesn’t sit around and wait for God to make things easier for her. She sucks it up and lives with her handicap. That is the way she has always been and the way she always will be.

She learned to not only live with her handicap but learned overcome it by not allowing her physical restraints to get in the way of what she wanted to do.

I am not even sure she believes in God or in Jesus the way we do, we’ve never discussed it but I know she is Godly.

We as Christians, if we are honest with ourselves, sometimes  hide behind our spiritual or emotional handicaps by trying to make ourselves perfect. We always seem to be waiting on God for one thing or another but in actual fact we use “waiting on God” as an excuse not to get out of the boat and walk on water.

We just have to accept that there are certain things in our lives that we just have to live with and  that being said, lets suck it up and accept that we are not perfect, some of us may very well be handicapped in certain areas of our life but lets not allow it to stop us from living life to the full.

Lynn told my wife that when she dreams she always sees herself with feet, walking, running, jumping skipping and whole.

That will be one of her rewards in heaven.

So let us in our dreams see ourselves whole, free from our own personal handicaps.

That will be our reward in heaven.

Posted on August 5, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. optimisticgladness

    Love it….”Suck it up!” I tell my kids that often. I even had a t-shirt made with the words on the front that says, “Suck it up and work.” I work with kids with disabilities. Sometimes they whine. That’s when I pry open my top shirt like superman to reveal the t-shirt with the words I want them to read. I find it really interesting that Lynn’s dream involve her enjoying life with feet. This post is encouraging. Thank you.

  2. Awww yes… we all have these handicaps. Some more than others. And then of course, we have those few that put the rest of us to shame. Nice to see you back . GREAT post too. God Bless you Sam.

  3. inspireddaybyday

    What a beautiful post! Bless you all.

  4. I can relate to this. Physically, emotionally, as well as spiritually. It is difficult for me to comprehend words lately, but I will continue to explore your past articles as my brain permits. I like Lynn’s attitude. We all can learn a lesson from her!

    • Thanks for reading my posts Lizzy. Can I ask what you mean when you say, “it’s difficult for me t comprehend words lately…” Just curious, I hope thats not too personal. Let me if it is, I can get too nosey sometimes. Bless you Lizzy

Leave a Reply

