God Owns Us, So Relax

The modern-day mantra this generation has embraced is, “you can be anything you want to be, you can do anything you want to do”.  Everywhere you turn, life coaches, motivational speakers, the swimming champ giving a talk at a primary school, TV ads. This philosophy has  also infiltrated the pulpit and our christian teachers. Yes its good advice for doing your best, going for gold, pushing yourself to be the man God wants you to be. Or is it?

Does Jesus see it that way? Is that God’s message to the true believer? How does that mantra fit into the very fiber of our spiritual walk with God.

Paul says in 1 Corinthians 7 that we are bought with a price. That each of us when we gave our lives to Jesus, when we came to the Lord and said, I’m yours now Lord, do with me what you will.

I don’t believe he then goes on to say. “OK buddy, now go out and do the best you can, be the best you can be and be what you want to be.  If God owns us then He knows exactly where we fit in, who He wants us to be.

Many of us struggle with this because as the months and years pass we still are confused with who we are and what place we are to fulfill God’s plan.  When in fact we are exactly where we are supposed to be, with those we are supposed to be with, and in the exact place we are to be. Of course we always want to do more, be more for God and show God how much we love Him by doing the best we can with what He gave us.

There is a fine line between doing our best for God and letting God do His best through us because what God may see as His best for us may have gotten garbled in transmission some where along the line in our communication with Him as we pursue being our  best for Him

So if we are bought with a price then God owns us. If God owns us then it is up to Him how He wants to use us, what He wants to use us for and when He wants to bring it altogether.

If you are struggling with your God identity which is a common affliction with us Christians, just relax, God owns us so let Him worry about all the rest.

Posted on October 16, 2013, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like this on many levels. The first being that I left my dreams behind at 20 and moved in a very different direction than I thought God had for me…got married and had kids…six of them. After 33 years, the last one moved out.

    To my surprise, God stirred up that old dream and is opening doors for me that I assumed had been shut up until heaven. Since I’m clueless as to where He is leading me, I’m having to learn to take life one day at a time. The next step is as far as He will show me.

    There’s much freedom in living that way, you know. I’m beginning to enjoy each day’s activities instead of the mental gymnastics of trying to figure out how He’s going to get me where He wants me.

    Peace. Mmmm. Love it!

    \o/

    • I love your story. And I can guess by your profile pic that your dream has something to do with music? Maybe sell all that you have hit the road and sing your way around the world? Hmmmm. I agree living by faith day by day is so rewarding. God bless you and thank you for your kind words.

      • Nah! I’m not interested in either a road career or a recording contract.Both of those are full of potholes and traps – no thanks! It is music, but I’m not sure what. Time will tell. 🙂

        \o/

Leave a Reply

