Learn To Say ‘I Don’t Care’ and Mean It

From time to time my wife will bring home some clothing given to her by some of her clients. Most of the time they don’t fit, the style and color doesn’t match my personality or I just don’t like it. But on this occasion we struck oil. A polo shirt that was a good color for me, a style I would be comfortable with but most importantly it fit over my every growing midsection.

I was pleased with the find and as my wife straightened the collar and smoothed out the wrinkles she  told me how good it looked on me.

As we looked in the mirror together I couldn’t help myself. I said, “ugh it makes me look fat”.

My wife replied, “I don’t care”, and so the deal was done. I got myself a new shirt.

As I was taking some time this morning to reflect on my day for some reason I was reminded of the polo shirt and replayed the mirror scene over and over in my mind. So what was the big deal, what was I not seeing or why was I being reminded of a seemingly ordinary encounter between my wife and me.

Then it dawned on me, it was what she said when I told her I looked fat in the shirt. She could have lied  and said, “no honey, you don’t look fat, it’s a perfect fit and I love that 8 pack you’re working on”. She didn’t say this and I know she wasn’t even thinking it.

But she did say, “I don’t care”. In other words, sure you’ve gained some weight over the years and its difficult to find shirts that hide the obvious but who cares, I don’t. I love you just the way you are.

I couldn’t help but think it’s exactly how the Lord looks at us when we come to him, head down, repentant over some glitch in our character or personality. He tells us, ‘I don’t care, I love you just the way you are, after all I made you and I am quite pleased with how you are turning out.’

We Christians love to carry our own cat-o-nine tails around with us to give ourselves a good flogging when we need it, but really.  As my wife looked at me in the mirror and said, “I don’t care”, I knew she loved me in spite of me. She sees me differently than the way I see myself.

And so does God, he looks past our physical imperfections and looks at our soul. He is more interested in how we are progressing and growing spiritually.

Jesus encourages us ‘to love God with all our heart, mind and soul and to love those we come in contact with in the same way we would love ourselves’.

This is difficult to do when we are always picking on ourselves and seeing the physical imperfections in others.

Like my dear wife, we need to learn to say, ‘I don’t care’ and mean it.

Posted on April 2, 2015, in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

